Chapter 2 – Lesbian

It’s six a.m. when Tina and I sit down on the back patio stairs and watch the sunrise together. Sleep was a fickle friend last night and I spent the majority of my time holding my wife, gazing at her, releasing my worries into the universe as we clung to each other, cried with each other, and made love to each other throughout the night. Our bond is now stronger than even I would have imagined. My family means the world to me, and I would rather die than leave them.

It was difficult getting ready this morning. She didn’t want to let go of me anymore than I wanted to release her. We didn’t realize how difficult it is to do mundane tasks one-handed, but we managed to stay touching throughout most of our morning ritual. So here I sit, in my most “humble-but-elegant” black Armani pantsuit, as Joyce demanded. I don’t go on the stand today, but first impressions are apparently the most helpful, or the most damning. Kit and Malcolm will be alternating between half days at work and staying with Angie and the twins. Alice, Dana, Helena, Carmen, and Shane will be with us at the courthouse. Dylan and Tasha are going to work and will stop by after. It is a small comfort to know that I will not be alone, but it’s a tremendous comfort to sit here with my wife, enjoying a cup of hot coffee and watching the darkness become grey as the sun peeks up over the edge of the Hollywood hills.

We’re quiet as we sit here together, even L.A. is quiet, as if the city is aware of what we’re about to face today. The silence is broken by the light footsteps coming up the side of the house until we see Shane passing in front of the gate. I call out to her. “Hey!”

She turns and peers through the gate, smiling as she says, “Hey.”

I lift a hand in greeting and Tina chimes in with a smile of her own. “Hey.”

Tina takes a sip of her coffee as Shane comes closer and I smile knowingly as I ask, “What are you doing out so early?”

Shane lifts her hands, grinning as she says, “Going home.”

I smirk and drawl, “From?”

She rocks her head from side to side with a mock laugh, “Ha, ha, ha,” and completely avoids the question. “I can’t believe today is the day. You look great.”

I smile again. “Nice dodge. Uh, not quite my best, but it will do.”

I rest my chin on the hand propped on my knee as I consider her speculatively. Tina strokes my other knee and says, “Yeah, she needed to dress more conservatively today for the trial.” Her hand wanders up to my forearm, stroking me with her knuckles as I take another sip of my coffee. I can’t help the enormous grin on my face as Tina’s warm, delicate touch leaves gooseflesh with each smooth stroke, reminding me of the incredibly fulfilling night we spent together.

This goes on for a long, silent moment before Shane drops her head and squints her eyes. Her voice is low and playful as asks, “What have you guys been doing?”

Tina turns to me with a raised eyebrow and I glare at Shane. Tina lets out a soft chuckle, an overdramatic grin lighting her face as she turns to Shane and quirks her head. Shane smirks, saying, “Ah ha…,” as points at each of us.

I take a sip of my coffee before I go back to the original subject. “So, what? Did you spend the night with Carmen?”

She smiles and shakes her head. “No, we were just with Alice.”

Tina’s voice is curious as she asks, “With Alice?”

Shane tucks her hands into her pants pockets, nodding sadly. “Yeah, yeah, she’s um… what can I say? She’s really upset about that whole thing with Tasha and Dana.”

Tina shakes her head. “Oh God, that is a disaster waiting to happen.”

I nod, taking another sip of coffee. “Alice said she would choose Dana the night we talked about it. I don’t understand what she’s trying to do.”

Shane blows out a breath. “Well, she thinks that she needs to work on this with Tasha. Give it a real chance.”

I roll my eyes. “She can’t be serious. She has to know that no amount of work is going to make her love Tasha more. She admitted that she’s in love Dana and would choose her. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to see anyone get hurt, least of all Tasha, but that’s inevitable and this is only going to drag it out longer.”

Tina sighs. “Poor Tasha.”

Shane and I nod in agreement and chorus, “Yeah.” There’s a long moment of silence as we consider just how much Tasha is going to be hurting when Alice figures it all out. In a way, I’m glad it’s Tasha because I know that she’ll not only handle the situation with grace, but she won’t be destroyed. She’s strong and well-adjusted. Dana though, I don’t know how she’s going to handle this.

Shane sighs again. “Well, hey, I’m going to go shower and get dressed. I’ll meet you guys back here as soon as I’m done.”

I take a deep breath. For a moment there, I’d forgotten about the pendulum swinging above my head. Tina links her arm through mine in comfort and says, “Okay, we’ll be here.”

Shane waves and I smile sadly at her as she walks back through the gate. I turn and catch Tina’s eyes. She leans forward and gives me a chaste kiss, the distinguishable taste that is markedly her lingering and reminding me that she’s with me, inside of me, even though I won’t be able to maintain this physical closeness with her when I’ll need it most. I rest my forehead against hers and sigh as she strokes my hair. Today is just the beginning, but I’m going to get through it. No matter what, it’s not my last time with her.


Continued in Chapter 3 – Lawfully.

39 thoughts on “Chapter 2 – Lesbian

  1. Thank you both for your continued reading, commenting, and support. I hope I don’t let you down. I’ll hopefully have the first part of the trial ready soon. Thank you again!

    Like

  2. @ teegirl you’re a bit late, but welcome to this fantastic story. Wow viginawig you are so good. Love you story, can’t wait for your next chapter. Please be good to tibette!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Great chapter as always. An Armani suit “humble,” didn’t know he could do one of those. Bette/Jennifer is elegant no matter what she puts on. Ijust know the first part of this trial will just have me on my knees almost. And I will be happy when you let Whit and Joyce tear her to pieces. Thanks for posting.

    Liked by 1 person

    • lol Armani clothing can be very humble in regards to how it looks. Expense, not so much. But I just couldn’t bring myself to type “pantsuit she picked up at JC Penny.” Don’t get me wrong, I love their jeans, but I don’t see Bette shopping there. We, the little people, are not as elite. Yeah, this trial is painful. I hope you brought knee pads. Keep your eyes peeled and thanks for the feedback. 😀

      Like

      • I meant to comment on the ratings issue when I left a comment but was in a rush and forgot. I use ratings when I like a story. I only wish yours and BenMacs had a ten star rating because that is what I think of your writing ability for the both of you. You are both fantastic writers and I can’t imagine why anyone would rate your stories anything less than five. My rating will always be a five for you both and nothing less. Love your writing.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Thank you for coming back and taking the time. I appreciate the praise. Again this has been enlightening as far as the rating system is concerned. Thank you all for clarifying and helping!

          Like

    • Don’t be sad and thank you for letting me know how you feel. I’ll do my best to keep the length satisfying. If it’s not, I can always get a bigger one. *wink, wink* wkm – Thanks. They are close and that’s what’s going to get them through.

      Like

  4. I just wanted to say how much I am enjoying your writing. I love how you have allowed Bette and Tina to develop this strong relationship from the ashes of what was seen at the end of season one. Can’t wait to see how you handle the trial. Thank you for this wonderful tale!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for breaking your silence! I’m glad that they’ve rebuilt as well. The trial is going to be pretty gnarly but I hope it will be a satisfying mostly end. You’re welcome and thanks for speaking up!

      Like

  5. Big fan of your writing. I love how you’ve set the stage for the trial, all the background elements, how they treat one another and their friends. I am sure that the opposing lawyer(s) will say the most horrendous things about Bette and her past behaviors. However, she may have been a spiteful, arrogant but beautiful bitch but she didn’t kill in cold blood nor was it premeditated. She protected her family. No “Stand Your Ground” laws in L.A.? Not to be too political but what happened to Trayvon Martin was far worse than Candace Jewel.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you. I try to pace things so it feels more realistic. I won’t comment on Trayvon just because I have mixed feelings about it, but in regards to your question, copy/paste this into your browser: http://www.gunlaw.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=81. It’s so strange. They have laws to protect people in this position but there’s this clause that pretty much throws the laws out the window. The DA can still take you down if they feel so inclined. Merle’s a bitch, and she has the right to do this, as well as motive. It’s crazy to me. Why have the laws if you can still be imprisoned? Anyway, I agree that her past doesn’t have a thing to do with the present. She’s just in a place where she has to prove it. I think it’s important for her to not only pay for how she used to be, but put it to rest. This is the final piece in her complete healing, and I felt the trial accomplished this. No more loose ends. We’ll see how it turns out though. I’m still wavering on how I want this to go, so I’m just writing and going with what comes out. Have a look and let me know what you think and keep the open dialogue flowing as I post. I love how involved you are. It makes my day. Everyone – You’re all awesome and I appreciate it!

      Like

  6. Vaginawig, I don’t understand how anyone could give BenMac’s story or yours less than a 5 rating. You both are exceptional writers and your plots, dialog, drama and humour are outstanding in my opinion which is why I wished that your stories could be 10s. Some readers may just want a lot of NC17s and both your and BenMacs are so much more than sex between them…there is a real story behind them. Many authors of this site a very good, but sometimes there are extraordinary writers/stories that need to be singled out. Keep doing what you are doing. BenMac wouldn’t have 3068 (of her last chapter) reads if people didn’t like her story. You wouldn’t have 8,824 reads of you last long chapter post. You are both remarkable story tellers and I think you should write what you want to write and the way you want to write it. I venture to say that we will all keep reading you both.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for in-depth feedback and encouragement. I thought that maybe it was a sex thing as well in regards to ratings. Then my 3 page sex scene got a 4 and I couldn’t help but wonder what’s really going on. Maybe it was mediocre or some didn’t care for the emotion of it. I agree that BenMac’s stories are exceptional and it feels insulting for me to watch her ratings drop below a five. lol I know she’s humble and far less whiny than I am about it, but it just doesn’t seem right given the quality of her stuff. I know that you can’t please everyone, but if it’s dropped, then wouldn’t that mean an average of majority? It’s bewildering, so I’m reaching out for better understanding of what the ratings mean to the readers. Thank you for taking the time to answer so thoroughly and for consistently encouraging as you trek through hundreds of pages of my drivel. I am utterly appreciative of all of you who respond. 😀

      Like

  7. Vaginawig, I don’t understand how anyone could give BenMac’s story or yours less than a 5 rating. You both are exceptional writers and your plots, dialog, drama and humour are outstanding in my opinion which is why I wished that your stories could be 10s. Some readers may just want a lot of NC17s and both your and BenMacs are so much more than sex between them…there is a real story behind them. Many authors of this site a very good, but sometimes there are extraordinary writers/stories that need to be singled out. Keep doing what you are doing. BenMac wouldn’t have 3068 (of her last chapter) reads if people didn’t like her story. You wouldn’t have 8,824 reads of you last long chapter post. You are both remarkable story tellers and I think you should write what you want to write and the way you want to write it. I venture to say that we will all keep reading you both.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know if they stars are important to all writers, but it can be discouraging to see things drop. I would say that feedback and encouragement are important to most but not all. How important would depend on the individual writer. I thrive on feedback and want to know how my stories affect the readers. When it is less than great, so long as it’s honest and sensical, I just want to know what’s lacking or why. Like I said, you can’t please everyone. It’s just not possible. But outside of I just don’t like it, I want to know. I appreciate your feedback and you’ve added another piece to the puzzle. Do most of the readers even use the stars or comment? If yes, what criteria are they rating on? If no, why not? I would say that if a writer hasn’t removed the availability, they want to see it. So, thank you for your input! It’s been enlightening and as always, greatly appreciated.

      Like

  8. Vaginawig, I have not commented before but I have been following this epic story since the first installment. You have an exceptional talent, you draw the reader in, you make them feel they are there in the most intimate moments and most secret, sacred thoughts between them. I wouldn’t care one way or the other about what some people might be rating your stories, I don’t believe you do this for some number some person assigns to the story and I as a reader could care less what someone likes or thinks. I think you write because you must, that’s why most artists do what they do and make no mistake YOU ARE AN ARTIST ! Screw the numbers in fact turn off the option for others to rate your story. I love being allowed in their private world, thank you. Oh yeah one more thing – I don’t mind one bit reading into the wee hours of the night and dragging my ass around the next day, it’s worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • First and foremost, thank you for coming out… poorly timed pun intended. 😉 I appreciate your kind words and encouragement. Secondly, I know you’re right to say that they don’t really matter because I’ll create anyway, with or without the ratings and comments. However, there is something to be said to see something you’ve painstakingly labored over reach people and to have an open dialogue to your readers’ emotions and thoughts. So on some level, they do matter because to experience that, well, it’s satisfaction. I will admit it’s discouraging to see numbers drop, but as I read these comments, it seems as if they’re not correctly utilized, so they’re not honest. Thirdly, indulge my curiosity: When trolling the internet for a new fic to devour, do you take ratings and/or comments into consideration? I don’t know if I will turn them off, but I am taking the advisement into consideration. As you said, I’m an artist. Therefore, I must like the pleasurable pain of seeing cold, hard speculation in the form of tiny pink stars, right? Tortured and all of that… Lastly, the characters do have a private world and you’re welcome to view it from my fingertips anytime. As to dragging your ass, well that’s rough. lol I don’t wish to do that to you or anyone else. After this next post, let’s see if the length of my literary wand is satisfying. If the outcry for more is still there, I will revert back to the ancient ways of 100 page labors of love. You guys are helping me grow and learn so much, and it is supremely appreciated. Thank you from the bottom of my bleeding heart.

      Like

      • Vaginawig, I never even look or notice the ratings. I start reading a story and if I like it I continue if not I stop reading. If there is nothing good out there I retread a great story. When it was taking close to a week for one of your updates I started reading the beginning of this story. I’m still re-reading it!

        Liked by 1 person

        • Awesome. Thank you for taking the time to answer my questions. It’s been so very helpful. I’m flattered and humbled that you would re-read my story while waiting for an update. Thank you again for your amazing feedback. 😀

          Like

  9. As you know, I hardly comment and rate far less but I wanted to give you my two cents on my rationale when I’m rating. I’ve been reading stories on this site for years and I admit that back then I would probably score the NC17 chapters with a 5. However, as time passed and I matured, I grew to appreciate and after a time expect more in depth emotional connection between the two and not just raw sex. Sometimes it feels forced or rushed and that would turn me off and I’d actually skip those paragraphs. However with your writing, you have constant intimacy…a slow burn that never quite dies. E.g. You keep repeating that they hold onto each for as long as possible when separating. That’s what a true connection is and that’s what I enjoy reading. So I’d always give 5s to stories that take time to develop the characters individually and as a pair. All 5s to you my friend….no NC17s necessary.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awesome feedback! Thank you for that. I hadn’t even considered the maturity level of my readership. I had a moment, probably in the third installment, where I was disconcerted with the idea that thirteen-year-olds could be reading my stories. While I don’t think I do anything wrong in my stories, I wouldn’t show the L word to a thirteen-year-old. I feel that sexual exploration is only natural, but at that age, I wouldn’t want overexposure to the wrong ideals, imagery, or misunderstanding on what sex should be to cause confusion or the wrong kinds of exploration. I feel our children get inundated and over-sexualized far too early, and that is the main cause of teen pregnancy and sexual confusion in adulthood. And again, this thought is unsettling. I can’t see pre-teens or teens really getting much from my stories because they haven’t experienced enough to understand some of the concepts. But this understanding and consideration is a HUGE epiphany to me, so thank you so much for taking the time to come back and give me those two cents. I’m rich, bitch! 😛 Thank you for the kind words and again taking the time. It’s truly appreciated.

      Like

  10. Hey vaginawig, never before commented on your posts but been following this exceptional storyline from your first post. So let me first thank you for writing such a great story and looking forward to your next post. I am one of those silent readers who don’t come out to comment on a story very often which most of the time is due to the time difference. When I finally read a story/chapter there are already lots of comments and there is not much left to say, what’s not already been addressed, so I just leave a comment if there is something missing in my opinion. Second English is not my native language and I’m concerned my comments could come out too harshly and/or offending and that’s the last thing I would like to offend an author with my comment. I often thought about what authors expect in the comment section and wondered if just leaving a ‘liked/loved’ your story comment was sufficient enough. As for the rating, really wondered about that too. There are in my opinion some great stories posted on this site which get a low rating but when reading the comments to the story they were just full of praises so never been able to figure out where the low rating came from. Personally I do not use the rating at all and I do not take it into account either when I start reading a story. For me it’s like when I buy a book, I start reading the first chapter and when I like the writing and/or storyline I follow the story otherwise I leave it alone, perhaps start to read the second chapter just to make sure it’s really not what I’m looking for. So again thank you very much for sharing your incredible talent with us and posting such an interesting story.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for speaking up! I love that the silent readers are finding a voice here. Thank you for the kind words and you’re welcome. 😀 If English isn’t your first language, you did remarkably well. I don’t think you could offend someone so long as you’re not attacking them with your words. The ratings I’m beginning to think mean very little, but the comments make my day. I can’t imagine an author wouldn’t want some feedback. And yes, even a “Good Job, PPS,” so long as it’s heartfelt is worth something. Thank you again for speaking up and telling me how you feel. It’s invaluable and greatly appreciated, and you did very well with your English. 😀

      Like

  11. Hi I’m a silent reader, there are a few writers I am reading and waiting for their new post. One is BenMac and the other is yours. I still prefer the long length of your post then the short one that keep me hanging there. I love your stories, I am looking for a good ending with Tibette. PPS!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much for taking the time to comment! Keep your eyes peeled, and I’ll try not to disappoint. Everyone – You guys have been really fucking incredible this post, and I want to thank you. It means a lot to me.

      Like

Please leave feedback!

