Chapter 2 – The Golden Years, Part 7

“Your mom would shit a brick if she knew I was here right now.”

We both chuckle and she waves a dismissive arm.

“Don’t take it personally, Ash. She hates anyone I’m seeing if they have a vagina.” She shrugs, her voice ironic. “But they always do…”

We laugh a little harder this time and then something about that comment strikes me.

“Have there been, you know, a lot?”

She cocks her head at me. “I don’t know if I want to answer that.”

“Why, Spencer Carlin, are you a heartbreaker?”

Of course she is.

Just look at her…

“I’m not a heartbreaker,” she defends indignantly. “It’s just, no one’s stuck.” And then as a hastily added afterthought, “I mean, until Carmen, of course.”

“Uh huh,” I placate. “Of course.”

“You know that I’m the commitment type.”

That much is true. “So what’s the problem: fear of commitment, they’re spaghetti lesbians… what?”

She scrunches up her face. “Spaghetti lesbians?”

“You know… straight until wet.”

She giggles. “Oh my God, that’s priceless.”

I smile slyly at her. “So… what’s the problem?”

She sighs and I can tell by the pensive expression on her face that I’m wearing her down with my charm. She’s going to give anytime…

Wait for it…

Wait for it…

Bingo…

“I’m not really sure what happens. It’s like everything’s great for about a year, and then… they run away.”

She shrugs, at a loss for words.

“Ooh,” I coo. “That bad, huh?”

She narrows her eyes.

“But the sea-uh, I mean, Carmen… she’s a keeper?”

I’m fishing. I know it and she knows it, but she’s flattered, so whatever.

“I’ll have you know that Carmen and I have been together for two years,” she boasts.

She holds up two fingers as if this shows just how serious they are.

Hm, that means there have been three total in four years. Two years is nothing to scoff at though. They’re obviously serious; they live together. Why has the sea-witch stuck?

I lean forward and grin devilishly. “Has she met your mother?”

She’s quiet.

I’ll take that as a no.

It makes sense. Mrs. C certainly had a way with the ladies.


Two days felt like an eternity.

And it may as well have been.

It was two days without hugs, without kisses, without talking, without sappy texts, without sore ribs, without fighting to watch something that wasn’t hearts and puppies and rainbows.

It was two days without air.

Spencer hadn’t come to school or answered her phone and Glen wouldn’t speak to me, but at least I had Clay.

He’d told me that his parents had fought, that Mrs. C couldn’t and wouldn’t abide Spencer being gay, that I was never allowed in their home again, and that Spencer was grounded until she was better – whatever that meant. But he’d also told me that he and Mr. C were on Spencer’s side and trying to diffuse the situation.

“Just give it some time to blow over,” he’d said.

So I had been trying, but today, when I’d come home from school, some things had happened. There had been another car in the driveway. I hadn’t really thought anything of it until I saw a bald man come running from the house with a furious Mr. C hot on his heels shouting something about ‘psycho babble bullshit.’

And that’s when I’d seen Spencer for a split second at her front door. We’d locked eyes. Even from a distance I could see the anger, confusion, and hurt. She took a step towards me and I was about to run to her, but she’d been pulled inside, her mother filling the space with her palpable hatred before closing the door altogether.

That hadn’t deterred me though. Before I’d known it, I was at the door and ringing the bell like I had a nervous tick.

And maybe I did.

Mrs. C had answered only to immediately try to shut the door in my face, but I’d stuck my foot in the jamb.

“Go away, Ashley. You’re not welcome here,” she’d said.

“SPENCER,” I’d shouted, completely ignoring her.

She’d attempted to shut the door again so I’d only dug in harder.

“SPENCER!”

“Ashley…? Oh my God, mom, what are you doing?!”

I’d felt the door give a little and pushed, opening it enough to squeeze inside.

“Spence,” I’d said, reaching to take her in my arms.

I’d almost had her but Mrs. C had been a step ahead. She’d pulled me back by my hair and flung me back out through the door.

I’d felt immense anger coursing through me. The situation had been bad enough without a bitch move like hair pulling.

“You may be able to keep Spencer away from me, Paula, but you can’t keep me away from her.”

I’d never called her Paula before and she’d felt it for the disrespectful slap that it had been.

She’d leaned in close, her voice spiteful. “Watch me.”

“Mom, I love her,” Spencer had cried.

“NO YOU DON’T,” she’d replied shrilly.

And then, almost as if she’d flipped a light switch, her voice had turned almost loving. “Spencer, you’re just confused…”

She’d reached for Spencer but she had been denied. “No, mom, I’m not! Why can’t you just accept that this is who I am?!”

And yet again, Mrs. C had flipped that switch. “BECAUSE WHO YOU ARE IS NOT ACCEPTABLE!”

I’d tried again to get to Spencer but Paula had seemed to become unnaturally strong, shoving me back, shutting the door in my face, and locking it before I could even stop myself from falling. I’d listened to them shout from the outside for a while longer before Mr. C had come up behind me and gave me a hug.

“Don’t worry, Ashley. I’m going to make this right,” he’d said. And with that, he’d unlocked the door and stepped inside, shutting it behind him.

I had already been going out of my mind, but after that…

Well, now I was really losing it.

What was going on?

I looked at my phone for the hundredth time, willing it to ring, but it didn’t.

I had to do something, see her at the very least, but it was after eleven. What would I need if Christine were treating me that way?

I stopped pacing as it hit me like a sack of bricks.

I’d run…

I slumped down on the bed.

We could run…

Without really thinking it through, I hastened to call Aiden. I didn’t have a car or much money, but I knew how to survive. I just needed a little help.

Aiden voice was sleepy. “Hulloh…?”

“Aiden, I need your help,” I said in a rush.

“Ash?” I heard rustling. “It’s almost midnight. What’s going on?”

Shit, he still didn’t know.

“Um, you know how Spencer hasn’t been in school for the last two days?”

“Yeah…”

“Well, it’s a long story, but her mom’s holding her hostage.”

“Ash… are you high?”

I laughed almost hysterically. “No, Aiden, I’m serious. She’s taken Spencer’s phone and won’t let her out of the house.”

“Why would her mom do that? Is she grounded?”

“Well… yeah, I think so.”

“Okay…, so I don’t see the problem.”

“Aiden, look… just… I’m gay, okay?”

Dead silence. Like, not a word.

“Aiden?”

Fuck. I looked at the phone to be sure that he hadn’t hung up but it was still connected.

I sighed. “Aiden, did you hear me?”

“Just a sec, Ash.”

I heard a toilet flush and wanted to pull my hair out. Guys… I swear.

“Okay, so you’re gay. What does that have to do with Spencer?”

Did I really need to spell it out? Wait, yeah, guys…

“Spencer and I are girlfriends, Aiden.”

Dead silence. And then, “That’s hot.”

Oh, for fuck’s sake…

GUYS!

“Aiden, can you please get your head out of your ass? I’m having a crisis here.”

“Sorry…”

I could hear the smile in his voice. He totally wasn’t sorry.

“Spencer’s mom found out about us and she’s holding Spencer hostage until she’s like… I don’t know… rehabilitated.”

“Wow… that’s fucked up.”

“No kidding, so look, we need to get her out of there.”

“And go where, Ash? She’s seventeen. It sucks, but her mom can do what she wants.”

“We’ll run away. She’ll be eighteen in five months, and I’m only two months later.”

“Ash, I don’t think it’s a good idea. I mean, what about graduation and-“

“Aiden, will you help me or not?”

I was fed up. Nothing else mattered. I couldn’t leave her there like that. What if they brainwashed her or gave her an ultimatum?

What if I lost her?

“Alright, Ash. I’ll help you.”

I closed my eyes and sighed with relief, even as a massive headache sparked to life behind my eyes. They’d been happening a lot lately and it was making it hard to think.

“Okay, so listen, money’s whatever, but I’m going to need a car, one that they won’t know to look for.”

I knew that it was a lot to ask, but there was no other option. Besides, his parents were never home and they were loaded. His mom’s car sat in their garage nine months out of the year.

“Ash, if my parents find out, they’ll ship me to military school. They already found out about both parties…”

I rolled my eyes. “The first one was my fault, but the second one was because of that skank you were banging. No one’s going to know about this but the three of us.”

The line was quiet again but I wasn’t as frustrated this time. I was more nervous. I really needed his help. And Spencer really needed my help.

“Alright, you can take the Xterra. I’ll drive mom’s car until you get back. Five months, right?”

I smiled and nodded. “Five months, I promise.”

“I’ll be there in fifteen.”

“Okay…, and Aiden…”

“Yeah…?”

“Thanks.”

I could almost hear the eye roll.

Shit, I’d almost forgot, “Aiden?”

“Yeah…,” his voice was tired.

“Bring a ladder.”

“Okay…,” he drawled. “I’m hanging up now.”

“See you in a few.”

I hung up the phone and looked around. I had to get a move on. I grabbed a bag from my closet and started packing it with clothes before tip-toing to the bathroom to grab some toiletries.

“Ash, what are you doing?”

I nearly dropped my shampoo when I heard Kyla’s quiet voice and turned to see her standing groggily in her doorway.

I was about to leave and I’d forgotten all about her. I felt tears well in my eyes and tramped them down. She couldn’t know.

“I’m, uh,” I looked down at my brimming arms dumbly. “Uh, just doing a little hair experiment,” I whispered. “Come on, let’s get you to bed.”

I dumped my stuff on my bed and led her back into her room to tuck her in, feeling like a shit for lying and leaving her. She had always been part of the runaway plan, but now… I couldn’t do that to her. She had a life here; she didn’t need me anymore, but that didn’t make it hurt any less.

“You know I love you, right?”

She rolled her eyes and I chuckled. She was in that ‘I’m a not a kid’ phase. I swiped at my nose, just barely holding the emotions in.

“Okay, well, get some sleep, alright?”

I walked to the door, refusing to look back. But I did stop when I heard her say, “Love you too, Ash.”

I went back into my room feeling heavy but managed to finish filling my bag while my mind whirred. I wasn’t sure if it was Kyla or some other tiny voice in my head, but it was trying to stop me. The problem was that I knew from the very beginning that running was inevitable. I just hadn’t dared to hope that it would be for such a good reason. Spencer was a better reason than most to do anything, let alone run.

But what if she couldn’t cut ties like I could? What if she said no? What if she let her family win?

No, she loved me. She’d told me and she’d shown me more times than I could count. I shoved that voice aside and finished packing, leaving the bag by the window with my guitar.

I peeked through the blinds and a smile came to my face when I saw Aiden’s SUV pull up to the curb. I went to the desk and grabbed my meager savings from the jar in the bottom drawer, and on impulse stopped to scribble two notes.

Christine deserved an explanation at least…

With a sigh, I was as ready as I was ever going to be. I left one note on the bed, feeling a pang of loss as I looked around me. It was always just temporary, I had to remind myself. I set my cell phone next to the note and turned to open the window. Aiden had already quietly set up the ladder.

I held my bag out and looked down at him before releasing it. He deftly caught it and set it down while I climbed out of the window. I grabbed Al from inside and very carefully, turned to lower him to Aiden.

He pulled the case down and set it next to my bag, and with a sense of finality, I looked inside one last time before shutting my window and backing down the ladder.

Aiden was waiting for me with a smile.

“Hey,” I whispered with a nervous one of my own.

He handed me the keys to his Xterra. “I’ll get the ladder.”

I nodded, pocketed the keys, and picked up my stuff to go load it in the car. Once done, we quietly made our way to Spencer’s window. I rummaged around in her bushes for a few small stones while Aiden got the ladder into position. The first one nearly hit the window but I was a terrible shot. All of them pinged loudly off of the siding making me cringe and check the area with paranoia.

Aiden gave me a smug look as he took the remaining few stones from my hand and began to easily tick the window with them.

“And this is why it’s normally a guy beneath the window.”

I glowered at him. “You mean it’s normally guys who are creepy stalkers.”

He chuckled, drawing his arm back to throw another, but then a light came on. I grinned from ear to ear and pulled the note from my pocket, unfolding it quickly and bouncing with anticipation.

Before long the window opened and Spencer’s weary, confused face appeared. I beamed a grin at her and wiggled the sign, hoping that she could read it in the meager light.

She could and she just shook her head, a smile reaching her eyes.

“Run away with you,” she whispered and I nodded.

She seemed to think about it for a moment, turning to look into her room as if it held an answer. Finally she looked back at me. 

Her face was sad, but determined. “Give me a minute.”

I knew that she’d come with me and I hadn’t been wrong.

I started to pace, trying to consider where we’d be going. But maybe that was the point: there was no destination, just open road and freedom from a really bad situation.

“Calm down, Ash.”

I glanced at Aiden with annoyance and he chuckled. I was just about to threaten him with bodily harm when Spencer finally reappeared in the window. Aiden caught her bag and she backed down the ladder where I caught her, pulling her close and breathing her in. She smelled of shampoo and jasmine and sleep. Her hair was still a little wet and she clung to me as if her very life depended on it.

Aiden cleared his throat and she finally pulled back.

“Hey,” she said sweetly.

“Hey,” I replied, so relieved to just be looking at her.

“If you’re really going to do this, you need to get a move on,” Aiden cut in again.

I felt Spencer’s hand link with mine and we made quick work of loading the car and getting the hell away from that place. It was a quiet ride to Aiden’s house but Spencer never released my hand. And that was okay. I knew how to be quiet in the storm. Life had prepared me for it.

We left the car running as Aiden got out and unloaded the ladder. When he was done, he approached the driver’s side window.

“There are some blankets and stuff in the back. Do you need some money?”

God, he really was a giant softy if you could get past the utter guyness.

“I’ve got about a hundred,” Spencer pitched in.

“Same,” I said.

“That won’t get you guys far,” Aiden replied reaching for his wallet and pulling out what bills were inside.

“Here,” he said, passing the money through the window. “Be safe and call me when you can, okay?”

I reached through the window and squeezed his neck as best I could. “Thank you, Aiden.”

“What are friends for,” he shrugged, pulling away.

He smiled and patted the frame of his car. “Just be good to this old girl.”

“We will,” I promised.

“Okay,” he pushed away. “Don’t do anything I wouldn’t do.”

His grin turned lascivious and I rolled my eyes before putting the shifter in gear and looking to Spencer.

“You ready?”

She nodded and we pulled away, heading towards the freeway with no direction in mind. Spencer rested her head against the window and I could tell that she was too exhausted to talk. Even if she weren’t, no words seemed appropriate.

What could I say? ‘Are you okay’ just seemed stupid. Of course she wasn’t okay. Her mom was a raving psycho. I felt responsible somehow, like I’d caused all of this trauma. I loved her. Why couldn’t her mom just understand that? And even if it wasn’t me, it would have been some other girl eventually, right?

There’s no escaping who you are, and when who you are is Spencer, why would you want to?

I drove on until the sun came up, content to just be near Spencer’s sleeping form. I didn’t want to be separated from her ever again, and if we played this right, I wouldn’t have to be. She sighed and began to stir, finally turning towards me.

“Good morning, beautiful.”

She scoffed and squeezed my hand. “I must look like Courtney Love after an all-night bender.”

I laughed, full and genuine, and just shook my head. Her hair was in the most disarray that I’d ever seen it, but that’s the nature of sleeping on wet hair. Her eyes were puffy and red and her cheeks still flushed with sleep, but she was a goddess in my eyes.

“Have you been driving all night?”

I nodded and then yawned. “Thanks for reminding me.”

It was quiet for a few moments.

“What are we going to do, Ash?”

Her voice was small and I was so tired of hearing her like that. Spencer wasn’t small, she was larger than life. And life was never going to shrink her. I wouldn’t let that happen.

“Well,” I started. “First, we’re going to stop and get some food and use a bathroom.”

She shook her head. “You know what I mean.”

I sighed. I had no idea. “Spence, if she won’t accept you, there’s nothing anyone can do about it.”

She lowered her head until her hair fell forward and created a wall of honey-blonde to obscure her face, but I could tell that she was crying.

Fuck…

“I’m sorry, Spence…”

That was so insensitive of me. I squeezed her hand and took the next exit, pulling into a Flying J. Once the car was parked, I undid my seat belt and she immediately slumped over the console and into my arms. She cried harder and I just held her tighter, trying to keep the shaking sobs contained.

“Spence, I accept you and I love you. I know it doesn’t mean much, but…”

“It means everything,” she choked out.

She gripped me harder and poured all of her pain out, and I prayed that her mom would wind up in a colorblind eternity trying to solve a rubik’s cube for hurting Spencer so badly.

It took a while, but she finally calmed down, and we ventured inside to use the restroom. This place was kind of neat. It was a real truck stop, meaning that they even had showers. We decided to go ahead and use them and stocked up on some food and water.

No one seemed to pay attention to us. I guessed that we looked old enough and our families were probably still unaware that we’d split. Once we were done, we went back out to the car and gassed it up while checking what supplies we had.

Aiden had left us a couple of sleeping bags and pillows, a zippo, and a can of mace – why the hell did he have mace?

We added our convenience store goodies to the rest of the haul, and loaded back in, deciding to just keep driving South since the further that we went the warmer that it became. This time Spencer drove so that I could clock some shut eye. It was a restless sleep, but when I awoke, I felt a little better and the scenery had changed. The landscape had become windier, the hills steeper, and the woods thicker. There was a large lake that cut through the undergrowth and a glance at the clock revealed that it had been about seven hours.

“Spence, why don’t we pull over somewhere by the lake and stretch our legs?”

“That sounds good,” she replied with a sigh.

The tiredness rolled off of her in waves and I took her hand, kissing the knuckles gently before pulling it to rest in my lap. Spencer found a turn off by the water and pulled onto it. I glanced around us. I had no idea where we were, and it was obviously remote, but I thought that it would be best to be cautious.

I noticed an outcropping of rocks down the shoreline and pointed to them.

“We should pull the car over there so that it can’t be seen from the road.”

She nodded and carefully maneuvered the SUV on the rocks until we were obscured. She put the car in park but didn’t move. She just stared forward dazedly, her hands gripping the wheel.

I got out of the car and stretched, working the kinks out of my spine and letting some feeling return to my legs before coming around to Spencer and opening her door. She took my hand and stepped out, closing her eyes and breathing deeply. She tucked her hands in her hoodie pockets and looked out at the gently bobbing waters of the lake.

“This is really beautiful,” she whispered quietly.

She was really beautiful. I stepped forward to tuck a lock of hair behind her ear before asking that lame question.

“Are you okay?”

She met my eyes, a curious expression on her face. “We’re not crazy, right?”

Well, I wasn’t, but Spencer…

She knew what I was thinking if the poke to my ribs was any indication.

“Come on, Ash, I’m serious.” She grew indignant. “I mean, we just can’t let my mom keep us apart. It’s not right.”

Now this was the Spencer that I knew and adored, unwilling to roll over and just accept what someone else dictated.

“No, it’s not right,” I replied with conviction.

I decided to push a little bit while she was perked up. “But, we do have to go back and face her sooner or later.”

“I vote later,” she almost pouted.

“Alright…” I laughed and took her hand to lead her down to the water’s edge.

“So,” I continued. “Where do you want to go?”

She bent and picked up a flat rock, swiping the grit from its surface before chucking it like a frisbee at the water. I watched with fascination as it hit the surface and skipped several times before sinking.

She turned to me with the first genuine smile that I’d seen in what felt like forever and said, “You know what?” She chucked another stone and threw her hands up in the air. “We can go anywhere! Whoo!”

I chuckled. “I love anywhere.”

She shouted at the sky and I joined her, laughing and releasing all of the melancholy and anger out into the universe.

We were both slightly breathless when we finished and I noticed how the setting sun made her glow yellow in its dying light. She looked so beautiful and free and untamed that my heart swelled. I had the impulse to kiss her and so I did, pulling her in solidly, letting all of my love for her leave us both breathless.

She pulled back and rested her forehead to mine. “Wow,” she breathed.

“I’d go anywhere with you, Spence.”

For a moment she looked like she might cry, but then her eyes darkened and her breathing hitched, and I realized that I’d said something right because she leaned in and kissed me just as solidly.

Before I knew it she was backing me towards the car, our hands and mouths more urgent as they tried to find purchase. But no amount of touch was enough. My need for her just continued to grow and she met it, kiss for kiss and touch for touch.

I was pressed hard against the cold of the car, Spencer’s leg pinning me against it and holding me up when she pulled away.

“I want you, Ash,” she said simply.

And I wanted her too, more than anything, more than life. She made it all worthwhile, and she didn’t even know it. The past that I’d survived, I’d survive it again if it meant finding her.

“I’m yours, Spencer,” I replied just as simply.

The need didn’t dissipate at all, but it seemed to smolder and simmer, giving us the ability to slow down and move with purpose and intent. It was time. There was absolutely no reason to stop. And I wouldn’t, not now.

She opened the hatch and we both crawled inside. With shy glances and not so unintentional touches, we each took on a job. I quickly lowered the back seats and rearranged to make room and she unfurled the sleeping bags, zipping them together and smoothing them out.

I pulled the door shut and we faced each other on our knees. Her eyes were increasingly deep and I could see the satisfied longing in them as she quietly took off her hoodie.

I removed my jacket.

She pulled her tee shirt up and over her head and I mirrored her action.

She reached her hand out and delicately traced a finger along my bra line. and I had no choice but to close my eyes at the intimacy of her gaze and touch.

“Look at me,” she demanded.

And I did. I looked and I watched as her bra was removed and she was exposed to me. Her skin was perfect and polished, her full breasts tight against the chill now permeating in from the darkened lake line.

The way that she was offering herself to me sent arousal flooding through my system. I scooted closer, holding her eyes as I cupped her face, my thumb playing over a full lip. She pulled the tip of it into her mouth and I groaned low in my throat at how warm and wet and promising it was.

I dropped my hand down to her throat before leaning in to take her mouth in mine again. These kisses were open and almost sloppy, but I decided that they were my favorite kind. When I finally ran my hand over her breasts, teasing them, loving them, she was forced to release the kiss.

Her breathes were harsh and rasping, small whimpers mingling in them and shooting straight to my core. She grew bold and forceful, pulling roughly on my bra to remove it and track her mouth down my neck, across my collarbone, and then finally taking me into her mouth.

I marveled at the sensation, how it could happen here and I’d feel it there. It was like everything that she did, no matter where she did it, all sucked together into my lower abdomen to hum and focus in on this one point of aching nerves.

I felt light-headed, almost numb with flushed passion when I felt her fingers snake into the rim of my jeans and pop the fly.

Almost frantically I was on my back and lewdly raising my hips so that I could be liberated of not just the remainder of my clothes but the pain and shame that this world had wrought. There could be none of that here with her. It had no place. It had been wiped away with a skillful stroke of her tongue and steady thump of her heart.

I loved her and she loved me. How could her mother not understand that?

It didn’t matter. She was nowhere to be found. This was my place with Spencer, entwined and right and achingly beautiful. She was mine and I was hers and no one could stand between us.

She was hovering above me now, her blonde hair shutting us in, her dark eyes shining with gratification as she moved her hand slowly down my throat, between my breasts, and across my fluttering stomach to finally touched me in the most intimate of ways.

It took everything that I had to grab her wrist and say, “Wait…”

She stilled and gazed down at me and I ran my hands down her sides to her jeans in silent plea. I needed her to be with me as much as I needed to be with her. She braced her hands on either side of my face, and I lifted and parted my legs so that she could move in closer. She lowered her head and watched, groaning at how open I was with her, how free I was with her.

She could see everything and despite all of my vulnerability, I’d never felt more safe. I hooked her underwear and pulled all that remained down over her hips to her mid thighs, my eyes trained on the patch of blonde curls that were sticky with need.

I’d done that to her. It was her gift to me and I couldn’t get the last of her clothes off of her fast enough. She helped and met my eyes when she was finally naked, finally lowering herself on top of me for full skin on skin contact.

I was so lost at this point, wrapping my legs and arms around her. I’d never experienced something so incredible, so warm, so… just everything.

She encompassed satisfaction, but I suddenly realized that I’d never be satisfied. There wasn’t enough of her to touch or feel or get lost in. I’d always want more. I’d always come back for more.

Her hand found me again and this time, I found her too, sliding through those curls and into the heat beyond. She bucked against me, her forehead finding my neck, and I closed my eyes against the eroticism of it, being touched so intimately, touching her so intimately. The smoldering feeling in my stomach started to burn out of control and sear through every nerve in my body.

I didn’t think that it could get any more… just, more, but then she spoke… or whimpered or begged.

“Ash…” That breathless rasp made my heels dig into the blanket. “Take all of me.”

I knew what she meant and rolled us to our sides where we could face each other. Her eyes were shut and I kissed her tenderly as I pushed inside gently, hesitantly. There was a slight resistance but I forced past it quickly, watching with rapt fascination as her brows furrowed.

I waited, lingered, allowing her to adjust before moving again. The frown dissipated and her unfocused eyes fluttered open to meet mine. Her hips began to meet me and the sound of her mewling breathes escalating made me almost jealous.

I wanted to feel her this way, to experience her this way. I wanted her inside of me too. As if she knew what I needed she pushed lower, hesitating and teasing and waiting for me to give myself to her.

“Please…,” I breathed.

There was a twinge of discomfort that rapidly faded as all of those feelings intensified ten-fold. Whatever this was, it was coming fast. I rested my head to her breast and everything seemed to shake and quiver and fold in on itself as we rocked and writhed.

I felt her break open and her passion flood out as her body went still, the warmth of her around my hand growing tighter and tighter until it began to flutter. She cried out and I followed her, imploding against her, in her, and before her as we both stilled in each other’s arms.

Time had no meaning here. The darkness outside had no dominion over the light held in my heart. I felt new, reborn, insatiably satisfied, and utterly owned.

And I was.

I was hers.


Don’t forget to rate and review before moving on!


Continued in Chapter 2 – The Golden Years, Part 8

8 thoughts on “Chapter 2 – The Golden Years, Part 7

  1. Spoiled by a fast update, and teased by not getting the aftermath of the revelation (Spencer’s reaction). Great chapter though (oh Ashley, why? Though I suppose the answer is obvious. You’ve given us her backstory of growing up having to protect Kyla. It’s what she does). And don’t be concerned by my comments about not knowing as much about Spencer. It fits the approach you’ve taken. We see the ‘whole’ of Ashley through her actions, interactions and thoughts. We don’t get to see Spencer’s thoughts as she is in the third person. It just means you have to work on letting us see her more clearly through the dialogue. I think you’ve done that well so far, for young Spencer. But I’m really looking forward to the next few chapters, and finding out about grown up Spencer’s thoughts and feelings. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I can let you stew on stuff, but I don’t see a need. I’d like to keep putting up content while I’ve got you guys talking. Hopefully more people join the convo. Thanks for the response on Spencer. We’ll see quite a bit more of her present day in the remainder of the story. We still have a long ways to go, actually. Thanks for the encouragement and input. 😀

      Like

  2. Just found this story so had the pleasure of reading all ten chapters at once which still was not enough. Loving your writing style the inner monologues and the back story very descriptive. Not a fan of the unfinished flash backs and then shortly winding it up in the next chapter without fully explaining but makes your imagination find its own ending which can be good also. Can’t wait for more chapters

    Like

    • Thanks for your input. I’m glad that you’re enjoying it. I know the flashbacks can be a little frustrating, but honestly, we’re not even to the main part of the story yet. There’s just so much to get through. I find the chopping a little disorienting too. It’s almost because of the way I’ve chosen to write the story, it needs to be read in one sitting. But, can’t really do that. It’s too long. Anyway, it’ll level out soon because the flashbacks are coming to an end. Thanks again for the feedback!

      Like

Please leave feedback!

